Review : The Fault In Our Stars

How often does a doomed love story bring happiness to us? This movie is about a girl and a guy who meet at Cancer Support Group and how their stars guide them to make something almost magical and then get lost in the darkness forever.

OR_The-Fault-in-Our-Stars-2014-movie-Wallpaper-1280x800-1000x625

Shailene Woodley as Hazel Grace Lancaster is diagnosed with Stage-Four cancer affected lungs when she was 13. She struggles and battles like a Hero (that’s what everyone says, which is utterly untrue),  with the cannula beneath her nose helping her breathe because her lungs suck at being lungs.

She meets Augustus Waters (Ansel Elgort) at her support group that happens at the church basement every week. Gus (Augustus) apparently had just a touch of cancer and recovered and is identified as NEC (No Evidence Of Cancer) for a little more than a year. Well, that happened after he lost his leg in the surgery.

0047cb0022bd8a5bbc231b251e51400d
Me reading TFIOS

So,when the  broken and depressed girl meets this extremely cute (I just can’t NOT say that) charming and happy-go-lucky guy…it is a treat to watch what happens. Shailene has acted out her part too well and makes us cry and laugh along with her. She has a certain innocence to her that makes us ache and hope she gets well soon. *Yeah, really*

Ansel Elgort blends effortlessly into the character we all read and loved – Augustus Waters.  He manages the crooked smile and spontaneity so well that we can not imagine anyone else playing Gus ever so perfectly. He was “beautiful”. Yes, I used double quotes, bold and underlined it to make a point.

I have read and loved the book. And I understand they had to do minor modifications in the climax – well, not exactly the climax, just the way we arrive at the climax. But it is brilliant and I loved the dialogues even when reading the book; so seeing them come alive on screen was a pleasure to witness. I loved it that the characters are so rich in literature and vocabulary. Post-reading the book, I was using words like ‘hamartia’ and ‘ubiquitous’ it my daily words and got many weird stares from the people around. -_-  And John Green is like my personal Van Houten. I just have a love-hate relationship with that guy :/ (P.S I LOVED the book, John!!)

And I shall declare this, as the BEST proposal of the millennium :

 “I’m in love with you, and I know that love is just a shout into the void, and that oblivion is inevitable, and that we’re all doomed and that there will come a day when all our labor has been returned to dust, and I know the sun will swallow the only earth we’ll ever have, and I am in love with you.”

No one will ever sayt this piece of art to me in real life right ? 😦  *heart breaking sound*

Rating this movie would be a crime! Go watch it already. Pretty please? :’)

sign

2 thoughts on “Review : The Fault In Our Stars

  1. I should have read this before watching the movie, don’t you think? 😀
    Nice stuff you have there 🙂
    You see that I usually read science fiction and horror, watching thriller and horror movies, but ended up loving this one for a change 🙂 Not usually my cup of tea 😀

    Like

What do you think ? ;)

