What do you blog about?

 

TITLE

“Oh, you have a blog? That’s great! What do you blog about?”

The End. Consider yourselves very lucky if you have an answer to that. Or maybe not. Blogging is not a hobby. It never was and it never is. Because hobbies are the things that you love doing, and career is something that your life depends on. Blogging is both. You write for yourself (when it gets noticed, it’s actually a plus) and in the process of developing content for your blog, you evolve.

But after the initial few days, or maybe the first 10 posts of ranting about whatever comes to your mind, there comes a spot where you stop and look back. Literally, scroll back and think “What the hell am I doing?”. You either don’t know what to write about or don’t know what is expected out of the blogger-version of you. For some blessed ones, they could go on with the particular theme or interest and focus on that. We’re not bothered about them. The other category where most people are – What shall I blog about?

Every blogger needs a niche. Or better, has a niche. That is simply the understanding that you have figured out your most confident topic. It doesn’t always work that way. I know many people are as clueless as I am when it comes to your niche. There are a zillion beauty and fashion and cooking blogs out there. Trust me it is the easiest thing to do. You buy a product, swatch it, click pictures, publish it with your ratings. Or you could cook the life out and click beautiful yummy pictures and publish. There are endless beauty products to test and recipes to cook. But when you don’t do that, that’s when you struggle as a writer.

But don’t take me wrong – I adore cook blogs and beauty blogs! The struggle is less there! They have found their niche and it keeps offering them with opportunities day in and day out to produce more content. Having no niche is particularly difficult. But it is also challenging and free. I would judge you, if you post about your holiday in your niche-ed beauty blog. ‘I don’t want to read this, you!’. But when you are not yet branded, you’ve got the maximum freedom. Just go out and explore. Write about anything and everything. Publish stupid meaningless content. Something would strike! Something people like. Something that they point out that YOU are good at. Do that for the rest of your life! πŸ™‚

So tell me, what do you blog about? πŸ˜‰

sign

9 thoughts on “What do you blog about?

  1. I have two- one for cooking and the other where I write about anything and everything that cross my way! So, it’s fun. I never wanted to have a niche πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. It’s because I’ve been plagued by that very worry, I’ve been an extremely erratic blogger/writer person…I don’t have a niche yet…I’m…fluid? πŸ˜› Yes…I’m going to say fluid… πŸ˜‰

    Like

    1. I like it.. Being “fluid”. πŸ˜€ You get to be a free-spirit in your words and spread out your horizons no matter how socially awkward you are! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Thanks for droppin by and following me, Preeti πŸ™‚

      Like

What do you think ? ;)

