Gone Girl : Movie Review

When the wife is either missing or dead, the first suspect is the husband. It’s always the husband. This movie takes you on a roller-coaster ride and startles you; making you question on the very fundamental and integral part of the society – marriage. Rosamund Pike as Amy is a children’s book writer. She writes as Amazing Amy and is loved by all and is America’s sweetheart. Ben Affleck as Nick Dunne is her husband and is a nice guy. A very nice guy who smiles for a photo when asked to smile – even if it is in front of his missing wife’s picture.

Ben-Affleck-in-Gone-Girl

The story starts off with a very mysterious morning when Nick returns home to find his wife gone. She is missing and every investigation and clue points back at him. Is Nick really the nice guy or has a creepy side?

You think thats the end of the story. No, its just the interval there! I was drained of all creativity to think, how a director/author could keep the story going even after loosening the biggest (or I thought it was!) twist of the millennium. The second half takes a crazy turn and does all the drifting and builds the tension scene after scene. You will not be spared!

There were a few moments of dark humor here and there, but that’s about it. The story is intense and you are not going anywhere. And it is one of those climaxes where I want to scream my lungs out into a pillow for stopping THERE, but also weirdly happy that it did. Only THAT ending could give you enough impact for a movie like this.

Clearly I haven’t read the book. I have read about the book many times and in many places; its in my to-read list since forever. I just never got down to reading it. Now I will. I dint read some books after I saw the movie because I know whats going to happen no matter how much more the book holds. Like,Divergent. But this one, had a different climax in the book and seems they totally changed it in the movie! I cant wait to read it now.

David Fincher did absolute justice to Gillian Flynn’s book. (Although I haven’t read the book, the movie is bloody awesome to disappoint the book lovers I’m sure!) . And Gillian is a MEGA-master-mind. Period.

Gone-Girl5.jpg

With brilliant performances, cinematography, just the right amount of background score, generous heap of plot twists and an adorable cat that ridiculously behaves like a doll and comes to you when you want to lift it up, it is a killer movie. Literally 😀

4.5 STARS

Gosh, this will just win too many awards !

sign

6 thoughts on “Gone Girl : Movie Review

  1. Hey there, I found you via the NaBloPoMo blogroll.

    I flipped through the book to get the story line, I’m not sure why but the story did not draw me in. I will see the movie, and see if I like that better. 😉

    As part of NaBloPoMo I try to comment on as many participating blogs as I can, and I also add participating blogs to my feed reader.

    So I’m just dropping by to let you know I’ve added your blog to my feedreader, I’m reading you loud and clear, I have a link up going at my place so my readers can find participating blogs which you are more than welcome to add your blog link to.

    Looking forward to seeing your posts, and you’ll likely see me drop by again during November.

    Happy NaBloPoMo to you!
    Snoskred
    http://www.snoskred.org

    Like

What do you think ? ;)

