Rise Above Fear

Fearless-taylor-swift-34627860-900-600

We’re drivin’ down the road
I wonder if you know
I’m tryin’ so hard not to get caught up now
But you’re just so cool
Run your hands through your hair
Absent mindedly makin’ me want you

And I don’t know how it gets better than this
You take my hand and drag me head first
Fearless
And I don’t know why but with you I’d dance in a storm in my best dress
Fearless

..says our Swift. Fearless is such a powerful word in my honest opinion. Even if I dint know what it means, I guess I would have felt this way about the word. And being fearless is an out of the world feeling. Just imagine, you need not worry, hide, feel ashamed, feel self-conscious or any such crap. Just be.

But of-course I know its easier said than done. Most things are. There are always many many pairs of eyes, scrutinizing our every move, every word we blurt out, to find faults and give us our very own brand name. Survival amidst such people is nerve-wrecking enough, how does one find it in them to be fearless? I kind of did.

When I was a little over 11 years old, my parents took me on a vacation to Delhi-Agra-Shimla. It was the longest I’ve ever travelled back then, and I was no wonder thrilled. I was squeaking like a little pig all my way to Delhi. Even the 2 day train travel, couldnt do much to calm down my excitement. After the Delhi and Agra leg of the trip, we went on to Shimla. And one of the most popular things to do there, is the horse riding. It is supposed to be a very happy experience, except it wasn’t.

As I was basically a kid, I was given a colt. It was a half-white horse, *actually white. But you know how well they are maintained* and looked like a unicorn to me. *I really thought that!* But that unicorn-looking-horsey was not enough to keep me shut. I was freaking out. It is such a rough terrain and when we were waiting for the ride (horse), so many people came back with bruises and cuts as the horse turned wild and shook them of its back. In some cases, they were funny enough to fall off themseleves without the help of the horse. 😀 I threw a big tantrum and everyone in the vicinity started to tell me its alright and the horse is probably scared cause of me. I took that personally. I scared away a horse?! Damn, that’s insulting. :/

So I decided to ride that thing and get it over with. When I got on the horse,the guy who has to be guiding me and my parents left me on my own telling me that, the horse is so small and timid type and wouldn’t scare me at all. Well, I think I gripped that strap on its neck with all my strength *out of my fear of falling of-course* and freaked it out. It broke out into a run. It freaking run like crazy and everyone made scurried off to their safe spots before I could topple them over. And of-course I fell and scraped my knee and cried and threw death glares at people who said “It’ll be fun” when I refused to get on that death machine in the first place!

But NOW when I think of it, I would be such a dumb stupid person if I dint go ahead and do the tiny things and scared me the most. It might be silly, crazy or even scary. But those things mould you and make who you are. I will probably not go there again, and I saved myself from regret and I cant be happier! 🙂

Talking so much about being fearless and taking risk, I came across the new campaign by Mountain Dew where Arya takes the risk and goes for the plunge, rather than waiting another 12 years for the Kurinji flower that blooms only once in twelve years. The ad sure creates an adrenaline rush and a sense of excitement. The background song sets the mood of the whole effort and the ad is sincerely too good. Arya – hawt !! 😉 ❤

Here you go :

 

Danger is very real; but fear is a choice.

-After Earth

 

 

afraid

Image Source : Source 1  | Source 2 

9 thoughts on “Rise Above Fear

What do you think ? ;)

