C: Carnival #atozchallenge

The April A-Z Challenge is a month-long blogging challenge, where every participant posts a blog on a topic starting with A on 1st, B on 2nd and so on. We get the Sundays free. You can read more about it here.

C

Carnival

The sound of little children laughing rings everywhere. The sweet smell of cotton candy and the never-ending popping of corns at the popcorn cart fill the air.

Kids scream with a mix of joy and fear as the Giant Wheel takes them higher and higher. The ever-smiling clown, which starts looking creepy if you keep staring at it for more than ten seconds.

The stolen kisses in the darkness behind the gaming counter. The parents smiling with content, looking at their kids having a good time.

The Carnival is a place of absolute fun and joy. But only for a week.

Till it returns to a barren land with swings and giant wheels that just rumble in the wind. With all the counters empty. With just the sound of children laughing, floating somewhere in the air.

design

This post has been written for the April A to Z Challenge 2015 that I revealed here.

sign

17 thoughts on “C: Carnival #atozchallenge

  1. That’s a good one, especially that I can see you’ve not been to a fair! Well-written and beautifully narrated! πŸ™‚
    P.S: I can see that you changed the theme of your blog! Looks different πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Beautifully written! You transported me back to the days of the Clearfield County Fair! Those visits to the carnival happened every summer throughout my childhood and oh, how we would anticipate the fair coming to town! We’d go down to the train station and watch as all of the rides were unloaded and gleefully talk about which rides we were going to go on and how much fun we were going to have. Through your post I could actually smell the aromas of all the festival specialties. Thanks for a sweet trip down memory lane…
    Michele at Angels Bark

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank u so very much for that lovely comment of yours !!! I’m attempting fiction for the first time and I was really scared to take Flash Fiction as my A-Z theme. I’m so glad you appreciate my efforts. Also, I have never been to a fair in my life. I just wrote this based on what I learnt from books and movies. I’m so very glad that it’s relatable to the actual fair you visited :)) Much love x

      Like

      1. I would never have guessed that you had not been to a fair! You’ve captured it beautifully! I love what you are doing with your theme. Flash fiction is hard, I think. I bow to your courage to step out of your comfort zone. I don’t know that I could be that brave… Bravo to what you are doing, and achieving!

        Like

  3. I missed the twisty ending. Written well though πŸ™‚ Haunting again. That last line is quite true. We organized a fair once. Could feel the presence of the children and people even after it was gone.

    Like

    1. Thanks a lot Leo! πŸ™‚ I’m just attempting fiction now and I don’t know why I end up with eerie stuff all the time. -_- Your organized a fair? I’m sure that was a challenging thing to do! πŸ™‚

      Thanks for dropping by πŸ™‚

      Like

What do you think ? ;)

